Backlist Books and Library Finds

I wouldn’t be much of an editor if I didn’t talk about books on my blog, would I? To start out with, I’ve got a bit of a mission: for the foreseeable future, I want to get all my books from my local library instead of the bookstore–not only for financial reasons, but also as repentance for years of thinking that the only books it stocked were years, if not decades, old. I have never been so glad to be wrong! Though sometimes there might be a bit of a wait (limited copies and all that), thanks to the advent of e-books, I can read almost any book I want, including new releases, absolutely free?! Sign me up!

I’ve also noticed that more and more, books are basically put on publishers’ backlists as soon as they come out, because almost immediately people will start thinking about what’s coming next. While ARCs (advance review copies) are always a treat, I’ve found that I sometimes tend to forget about books that have previously been released, whether that be in the past month, year, or even further back. It’s not like those books become any less good over time, so I want to make it a point to seek them out and talk about them as well as upcoming releases that I’m excited about. If a book inspires me, I’ll talk about it, no matter the pub date; variety is the spice of life, right?

With that, I’m off to browse the online catalog–see you on the flip side!

Leave a Reply

